Sisterly Bond

I remember when a group of my high school girlfriends thought up the idea of going on a cruise for our 50th birthday and they turned to me to plan it.   I remember my words were colorful.    Not in the agreement kind of way, but more in the “I don’t want the responsibility”.   Trying to gather a large group of women together is similar to herding cats.  Amazingly, one of our classmates took on the challenge (thank you Terri) and after  year of planning, we embarked on a celebratory vacation free of responsibility this past weekend.

I wasn’t sure what to expect, but Facebook deserves some credit.   While there are always cons to this social media platform, this time, it was a gathering tool.   We had a collection of ladies who came from all over the country.  It was a great way to reconnect with those that I either didn’t know very well or to catch up with those that I had known for a very long time.   Regardless, of the depth of our relationships there is no doubting the bond that generated because of this mini-vacation.

While we all re-enter our various lives, I will not forget the hugs, the laughter, and the overall willingness to simply enjoy each other.   The facade of how people were perceived in high school melts away when the thread of sisterhood springs forth.

Also, what happens on the ship, stays on the ship.

Leave a comment