Adding the New

I would apologize for neglecting this blog, but it was completely out of my control. Building a new website forced me to take a bit of a hiatus, but the time away gave me some great material. While I want to write about the turkey fiasco on Thanksgiving, I will save that for tomorrow’s entry. Today, I want to focus on the new addition to our family.

You all walked through the loss of our two Basset hounds that passed away seven months apart. It has been four months since Daisy died, and this is the longest we have gone without a canine companion. While there were bonuses in not having the responsibility, I could feel the emptiness. While I love my cats, they are a bit moody and I prefer the unconditional love that only a dog can bring.

The time was ideal as I am mostly recovered from foot surgery and we were done traveling to WKU for home football games. It gave all of us a reprieve to heal. Losing two dogs so close together was devastating, but I knew that the right dog would show up. Apparently, Friday was it. The story is long, but the short version is that Luna, a black Lab mix, was in need of a home and my nephew alerted us to her. When we met her, she was in the care of my youngest nephew and his girlfriend. Luna is young and very sweet. Seriously, the most well-behaved dog we have ever had. She arrived on Saturday and is adjusting to her new surroundings. The cats are annoyed and have yet to make an appearance, but I know that with time, maybe they can cohabitate and will lose their attitude with me.

As I write this, Luna is curled up next to me. The more comfortable she gets, the more of her true personality comes out and it is fun, sassy, and so loving. Grateful can’t really sum up my feelings, but there is a whole lot of gratitude extending toward my two nephews and their significant others for finding us our missing puzzle piece.

Leave a comment