Empty Your Trash Cash

Before you get your notebook out and write down all you’re going to accomplish in  2016……pause for just a moment.  Here’s the deal, we are all so focused on proceeding forward at lightening speed, we forget that before we can attract more, we need to declutter – both figuratively and literally.      If you have been a follower of my blog, you know how I detest resolutions.  Resolutions are unrealistic expectations that set us up for failure.

So, ideally before I move on to the new year, I evaluate where I am.   I figure out the things that are no longing serving a purpose.  It could be a relationship, a job, or simply a way of thinking that shoves me into a repetitive behavior that continues to lead me to the wrong people, places, or things.     Clearing out the emotional clutter frees up space and allows me growing room.    Since I am an emotional hoarder, the cleanse is a simplification of my life.

Instead of resolutions, I set goals.    Goals, for me,  are obtainable.  These are realistic images of the things I would like to do, see, accomplish, but they are also flexible.  In other words, they aren’t set in stone, so if the purpose changes, I am free to tweak my goals to better suit my needs.    Goals set me up to succeed, while resolutions can set me up for a tumble.

The new year is a clean canvas ready for my artistic touch, so why wouldn’t I rid myself of unwanted baggage?   I want to start 2016 free of the restrictions that hold me back from truly living my very best life.

One thought on “Empty Your Trash Cash

  1. Thank you Allison.
    This makes way more sense than starting something I never seem to follow through with. Resolutions are over rated! Goals are not.

    Happy New Year.

    Elizabeth Goodknight

    Like

Leave a comment